General Information : 
Location

Srirangapatna was the historic capital of Tippu Sultan known for his struggle against British rule. Several monuments relating to his rule are sprinkled across the island. Both Tippu Sultan and his father Hyder Ali are believed to have made endowments to the Ranganathaswamy temple.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

Welcome to Srirangapatna

PLACES OF INTEREST AT SRIRANGAPATNA

1. SRIRANGANATHA SWAMY TEMPLE: Ranganatha Swamy Temple is one of the largest temples in the state, and is of great local importance. An inscription dated 894 AD revels that a Ganga Chieftain by name Thirumalaiah was the founder of the temple of Sri Ranganatha.Later, Hoysalas, Vijayanagara, Mysore Wodeyars, Haider Ali enlarged it. The presiding deity is the colossal image of Ranganatha reclining on Adishesha. The inner most part of the temple was constructed by the Hoysalas of which several granite pillars at Sukanasi are impressively designed shallow domes. The Navaranga, which has round bell, shaped pillars, and Mahadwara (Gopura) was built in the style of Vijayanagara. Two pillars having depicting Vishnu in 24 forms with their names arranged is note worthy.
Visiting Hours: 08.00 AM to 01.00 PM and 04.00 PM to08.00 PM
Phone: 08236-252273

2. SRI NARASIMHA SWAMY TEMPLE: The temple was built by the king Kanteerava  Narasaraka Wodeyar in17th century.  It is second biggest temple in Srirangapatna. The statue of the Ranadeera Kanteerava about 3.5 feet high standing can be seen.
Visiting Hours:7.30AM to 12.30 AM and 5.00 PM to 7.30PM

3. SRI GANGADARESWARA SWAMY TEMPLE: The temple was built during the period of Vijayanagar in 16th century. The main deity in the temple is called Sri Gangadara. In one of the cells is now kept a big copper image of Bogadakshinamurthy, which is said to be of solid copper and bears on inscription of about 1750AD stating that it was a gift of Dalvoy Karachuri Najaraja.

Visiting Hours: 8.00 AM to 10.30AM and 5.00PM to8.00PM

4. SRI NIMISHSAMBHA TEMPLE: This beautiful temple dedicated to Sri Nimishamba, built on the bank of river Cauvery during the days of Mysore Wodeyars in the early 19th century.  The main attraction of the temple is sacred’Srichakra’.

Visiting Hours: 8.00AM to 5.00PM

5. COLBAILEY’S DYBGEON: This dungeon was built in 18th century for war prisoners. After the second battle of Mysore Tippu Sultan who captured many British officers including Col-Bailey who died in the prison.

Visiting Hours: 9.00AM to 5.00PM

6. THE GIBIGATE: It is a small gate in the enclosure which leads from the temple area to the river in the east of Delhi gate. Outside the gate there is a small ruined shrine dedicated to Hanuman.

7. THE ELEPHANT GATE: In south of Srirangapatna the elephant gate built by Tipu Sultan in 1791 AD to enter the city on the back of elephant.

8.THE DELHI GATE: The gate is protected by two round bastions on both sides of  the gate.  It was used to connect the bridge and fort area.

9. SITE OF TIPPU’S DEATH: In the fourth battle of Mysore, Tippu Sulthan who last his breath in this place.  While fighting with the British in 1799, 4th May. The stone tablet erected standing. “Tippu Sultan body was found here”.


10. WATER GATE: This gate was originally built during the days of Dalavoi Devarajaiah in 1720 AD the storming British troops attacked Tippu near this gate.

11. INMAN’S DUNGEON: The structure was discovered by Inman’s an engineer in 1895 AD which was named after him.  It is said that the Maratha Chief Dhandia Wagh was one of the important person imprisoned here.

12. MASJID-E-ALA: Situated near the Bangalore gate is Masjid-E-Ala standing on a high basement with an open court in the front and a covered verandah with spacious prayer hall with miharab on the west.  It was constructed by Tippu Sultan in 1787 AD.  It is grand structure with two lofty minarets for their majesty and grace.
13.MAGAZAINE HOUSE: With in the fort there are Eleven magazine house were they store the gun powder during the days of Tippu Sultan.

14.DARIA DAULATH BAGH: Or Summer Palace of Tippu Sultan was built in 1784 and stands as a testimony to Tippu’s affection for greenery and open space. The structure is in Indo-Islamic style constructed mostly of teak wood. The building is rectangular in plan and stands on a raised platform. Open corridor run along its four sides with pillars at the edge of the plinth. The most striking feature of this building is that every inch of the space in the walls, pillars, canopies and arches is painted colorfully and artistically. Western outer walls of the palace confined to battle scenes while the eastern outer walls have paintings of portraits. A small museum is housed in the palace and the exhibits belong to Tippu’s period. Record speaks: - Col. Aurthar Wellesly who stayed here from 1799 to 1805. This building was used by Tippu for retreat from business.  Krishna Raja Wodeyar IV restored this building in 1926.
Opening Hours: 9.30 AM to 5.00 PM
Entrance Fee: Rs.5/- per head Foreigners $2. Phone: 252023

15. GUMBAZ: At the eastern end of the island towards the South is Gumbaz or Mausoleum.  It was built by Tippu Sultan for his parents between 1782-84AD. Later Tippu was buried here on 5th May 1799. It is an impressive square tomb chamber surrounded by brick built dome.  Open corridors run along its four sides with polished black stone pillars.  The carved stone windows and doorways with ivory inlaid doors are of fine workmanship.  In  the verandahs and on the platform are housed the Tombs of Haider’s family members. There is also a mosque in the complex built in Mughal style.
Visiting Hours: 8.00AM to 8.00Pm Phone: 08236-252007

16.SANGAM: A few minutes walk from the Gumbaz to the east is the confluence of the two branches of river Cauvery which is a sacred spot for Hindus. The natural scenery here about is grand and good picnic spot.

17. ABBE DUBEIS CHURCH: This magnificent Church (R.C.) built by a monk known as Abbe Dubeis in the beginning of 19th century.  He lived in this church for many years.

18. EUROPEAN CEMETERY (Garrison Cemetery): Numerous tombs belonging to British people 18 to 19 century is behind fort View Resorts stands as best example of British structure and unique in its kind.

19. THE BRITISH MONUMENTS (Obelisk):  This stands as a remembrance of the brave soldiers in British army participated in 4th Mysore war 1799. The scene of river cauvery dividing into two to form Srirangapatna as island is heart provoking.  The sunset at this spot is ever remembered able.

20. Gun Powder Stores:There are Eight GunPowder Stores,situated in different places of the Fort and enable easy supply of ammunition during War.

They are near1.Old Mosque 2.Elephant Gate 3.Somalinga Gate 4.Railway station 5.Gangadhareshwara temple 7.Mosque 8.T.inman's Dungeon.

These Structures Built of Brick,Stone and Mortar are shallow roofed,rectangular in plan with thick walls and small entrance. There is sufficient space inside to store and ammunitions.

21.Moat Around Fort:Srirangapatna Fort has natural and artifical Moat.The Fort is surrounded by natural river water on one side and on the south and eastern side,an artifical Moat of 20-25 ft depth was erected with water filled in it.Two enclosed Moat may be seen at Srirangapatna .

 

 

Last Updated onJan, 2014 02:44:36 PM

Photo Gallery
CLICK FOR OLD
PHOTOGRAPH OF SRIRANGAPATNA
 

CLICK FOR SRIRANGAPATNA

DASARA-2011

DASARA-2013